Shooting action from Rio 2016, a wheelchair user fires a shot on the range
Shooting Para sport

Shooting Para sport


In the ultimate test of accuracy and skill, competitors attempt to place a series of shots as close as possible to the centre of a target.

The target consists of 10 concentric scoring rings, with the central ring worth 10 points and the outside ring worth one.

Sport Details

The Rules

Targets vary in size depending on the event. In the 10m air rifle event the whole target is 4.5cm in diameter and the central ring is just half a millimetre across. After London 2012 the qualification system in most rifle events changed to one decimal point as many competitors were scoring the maximum 600. The top score for a shot is now 10.9.

Events are held in both pistol and rifle shooting. Air weapons are shot over 10m and .22 calibre weapons over 50m. There is also a 25m pistol event.

In rifle there are events in both standing and prone positions. In prone events the athlete can rest their elbows on a table to give added stability, whilst in standing they must shoot in an unsupported position. There is an additional kneeling position in the three position 50m rifle events.

Of the 12 Paralympic shooting events, six are mixed - open to men and women - while there are three competitions for men and a further three for women. In each event each competitor takes a specified number of shots at the target in a set time period - 40 shots in women’s air pistol and rifle, 120 in men’s three position and 60 in the remaining events.

After the qualification round the eight top scoring athletes go through to a 20 shot final where all scores are reset to zero. The shots in the final are scored to one decimal place, with a top score of 10.9. After the first eight shots, and every two shots thereafter, the lowest place shooter is eliminated until only two remain for the final two shots.

Shooting uses a classification system which enables athletes from different impairment groups with the same level of functional ability to compete together. They are divided into two classifications as follows:

SH1: Pistol and rifle competitors that do not require a shooting stand.

SH2: Rifle competitors who are not able to support the weight of the firearm with their arms and therefore require a spring mounted stand to shoot.

There are 10 events for SH1 athletes and two for SH2 shooters.

Share this page

Related News